In 1980, the team founded by Bobby Hillin made the leap in quality, starting to create a new specific chassis for USAC-CART races. Meanwhile, Hillin comes into contact with the Williams FW07/FW07B , the iconic Formula 1 single-seater which, between 1979 and 1980, triumphs in 11 Grands Prix, taking the team founded to the world drivers' title by Alan Jones (1980) and the Constructors title by Frank Williams. The exceptional wing car born under the technical direction of Patrick Head thus forms the basis for the Longhorn LR01 project, curated by Ed Zink. The car, original and captivating, stands out for its wide and square nose.

In 1981, Longhorn Racing surprised everyone. He decides not to develop the immature but promising LR01, but to rely on a ready-made car. And, above all, modern, envied and successful.

The Longhorn LR02 is, for all intents and purposes, a Williams FW07B. However, the changes made by the technical staff of the North American team to the single-seater championship signed by Patrick Head are evident.

In 1982, Longhorn Racing entrusts its sporting destiny to the new, beautiful and modern Longhorn LR03, still powered by the Cosworth DFX, and thanks to which Al Unser reaches a precious 5th place in that year's Indy 500.