The 28th edition of the 500 Miles of Indianapolis took place on May 30th, 1940. The winner was Wilbur Shaw in his Maserati 8CTF number one, the same car Shaw that had driven to victory in 1939. Wilbur Shaw became the first driver in the history of the automotive world to win the prize for two consecutive years. Maserati has been the only Italian car manufacturer that ever won the Indianapolis race